Skip to content

Product Review: Pravana Perfection SmoothOut

Sorella predicts that you will start to see Pravana as an alternative straightening system comparative to the Brazilian Blowout or Keratin treatments. We decided to put it to the test!

After trying out the Pravana Perfection SmoothOut on one of our loyal Sorella guests, we definitely DO NOT  want to offer it. Our trusted sylists and our guest alike were very disappointed with the results.

Pravana promises to transform coarse, frizzy hair to smooth and manageable hair. Although this treatment straightened the hair as promised, the downsides greatly outweighed the benefits! Find out why we are not a fan.

1. The Pravana product left behind an undesirable sticky residue after the hair was straightened. It took at least two washings before the residue was gone.

2. The smell was very unpleasant. Three weeks after the product was used, her hair still smelled. She informed us that it continued to smell every time her hair was wet and wouldn’t go away until after her hair was completely dried and styled.

In her words:

“The Pravana SmoothOut was better than nothing, but I wouldn’t do it again. I will say that if I flat ironed my hair it looked nice, but not necessarily better than any other straightening treatment I’ve had. Having my hair smell so bad for so long wasn’t worth it. I’ll definitely stick to the Brazilian Blowout or Keratin treatments in the future.” -Loyal Sorella Guest

Contributor: Jacquelynn Reasy Woodward

 

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mahnaz Jamali #

    my daughter did her hair and after two days she was wash her hair same as before I will never recommend pravana keratin perfection too anyone.

    August 31, 2016
  2. chele #

    I’ve had it in my hair for about four to five weeks now, and I miss my natural state. How can I strip the smoothness out?

    May 20, 2015
  3. I see a lot of interesting content on your page.
    You have to spend a lot of time writing, i know how to
    save you a lot of time, there is a tool that creates unique, google friendly posts in couple of seconds, just search in google – k2 unlimited content

    July 13, 2014
  4. Francine #

    Your hair was sticky and smelled for one of 2 reasons. First your stylist should have used a clarifying shampoo to remove any buildup on your hair and scalp from hair products, without conditioner prior to the smooth out treatment. Or secondly, your stylist did not completely rinse your hair after shampooing the hair once the smoothing was complete. I am a stylist and I have been using the Pravana Smoothing System for 2 years without incident. My clients are satisfied and keep returning and personally, my hair is smooth, shiny and super healthy from the first application 2 years ago! I love it!

    April 27, 2014
  5. Marie #

    I decided to give this a try 3 days ago. I loved the extra length it gave my hair ,less frizz, and easy to manage .Although I did notice it slightly discolored my hair and every time my hair is wet it smells of rotten egg.

    March 26, 2014
  6. Erin #

    Omg, i totally regret getting the treatment done to my hair. The smell, meh, was not too bad because i am not sensitive to stuff like that. Anyway, i got this Pravana treatment done yesterday and it didn’t work! ! ! It didn’t even work even right after the treatment in the salon. The hair salon stylist was like ” oh yeah, this is looking great. You look so good!” Um, yeah whatever. I STILL have split ends everywhere, my hair is NOT straight, it is STILL puffy as all heck, and what’s worse is that it took this woman four hours and my hair looks and feels the same as it did before i got it done.

    July 6, 2013
    • So sorry to hear that! As you probably read, we weren’t pleased with it either. I hope you get the situation sorted out and achieve the results you’re after! Best of luck, xoxo.

      July 9, 2013

Leave a Reply

